Billing and Account FAQs
What is a billing cycle?
On our monthly Team plan, your billing cycle will start the day after your 14-day trial ends. You will be billed on this day each month going forward.
On our annual Team plan, you will be billed at the end of your 14-day trail for the sum of the entire year of service at a certain number of MTU. All overages for annual plans are billed at the end of your monthly billing cycle.
How do I change my plan?
If you already have a Segment workspace, you can change which plan your workspace is on by navigating to the “Usage & Billing” menu, then finding the “Plans” page. You can select your new plan on the “Plans” page.
If you cancel or downgrade your workspace within your 2-week trial period, you will not incur any charges.
What if I cancel my workspace before the end of the month?
Cancellation on the Monthly Team Plan
If you cancel your workspace or downgrade to a free account before the end of your official billing period on the monthly team plan, you will receive a final bill consisting of a prorated amount for the $120 base + a charge for any MTUs you have used over the allotted 10,000 at the rates posted on our pricing page.
Cancellation on the Annual Team Plan
We do not issue refunds for the pre-paid portion of your annual bill after your trial has ended.
Please be aware that if you notify us that you want to cancel your annual plan, but continue to send data to our servers, you may incur overage charges in any given month. Please fully delete your workspace or cycle your write keys to stop all data flow into Segment and avoid future charges.
Will Segment charge sales tax on my invoice?
All Segment customers with a US business address may be subject to state and local sales taxes. The applicable tax law will be applied based on your business location address, which may be different from your billing address. Customers who purchase a taxable product or service, and are located in a jurisdiction where Segment currently charges sales tax, will see the calculated sales tax on their invoice.
Segment currently charges sales tax in the following states:
- District of Columbia
- New York
- South Carolina
- Tennessee (beginning 5/15/2020)
Do I qualify for a tax exemption?
If you believe your organization qualifies for a sales tax exemption (for example, because of a nonprofit or government status), you can contact email@example.com with the appropriate form.
I submitted a form for tax exemption, why am I still being charged sales tax?
Tax might still be charged on your bill if either:
- The exemption certificate was still in review while the invoice was issued; or
- The exemption certificate covers a state that is different from the billing address
Do you offer refunds?
Is there a free trial for paid plans?
Yes! We offer a two-week trial on the Team plan to let you try the plan before you purchase it!
We also offer the Free plan, which includes up to 1,000 MTUs, at no cost to you.
Find out more about the different plans and which one suits your needs best here.
Team Trial FAQ
What is the Team trial?
The Team trial is a 14-day free trial of Segment’s Team plan, and it includes all the features associated with a Team plan, including unlimited sources, two warehouse syncs per day, 10 seats, and 10,000 MTUs (with the ability to track more MTUs as needed).
How do I get a two-week Team trial?
You automatically receive a two week trial when you sign up for a Team plan.
Do I have to be a “new” customer to receive the free Team trial?
The free trial is available to all customers who have never had a Team plan. This includes new customers as well as customers who have previously been on the Free plan.
Do you have to include your payment information when signing up for a Team trial?
If you’re upgrading from a Free Plan to a Team Plan, you are required to add your payment information.
If you are signing up for a new Team plan, you do not have to add your payment information during sign up. However, if you would like to continue to use the Team plan after the 14 day trial, please add your credit card information on the “Payment Information” page in your workspace before the trial ends.
What happens when the two week trial ends?
If you added your payment information, your subscription automatically continues at the regular rate after the trial period expires. You can delete your workspace or downgrade to a Free plan any time during the trial if you don’t want to be charged.
To activate the free trial we ask that you add your payment information (if you have already done so).
This page was last modified: 15 Apr 2020
Questions? Problems? Need more info? Contact us, and we can help!